Waihi Sevens Tournament

16th June 2017

The Waihi Sevens this year saw the largest number of teams enter, with some returning teams and some new teams.

The day was exceptionally well organised by Dave MacLeod and the ‘Friends of Waihi’, and there were comments from those who attended saying it was one of the best Sevens tournaments that they had been to. The weather was also perfect with no wind and warm sunshine.

Waihi entered seven teams in the event, one U10 team and two teams in every other age group.  All the boys who wanted to play were in a team and they all showed the true Waihi competitive spirit and great respect to the game and opposition.

All the clubs, some coming from as far away as Christchurch, bought very competitive teams and all the pools were close. Waihi managed to get every team into a ‘play off’ and at this time of the day games were decided by fitness, skill, speed and a lot of luck. Waihi got two teams into the finals, the U12s and U10s. Although the U12s game was close, the Waihi team always had the upper hand and the team deserved the victory.

The parents and spectators that watched the U10s game said it was one of the best games of school boy sevens they had seen. Waihi were down 1 try for almost all the first half, but drew level with the last play of the half. The second half was exceptionally hard fought, but the Waihi team was the stronger side and pulled away with some exceptional tries.

Thanks again must go to Dave MacLeod and the Friends of Waihi for the day, it was fantastic and showcased Waihi School brilliantly.

The winning teams on the day were:

  • U10 Prosser Shield                 Waihi
  • U11 Everiss Shield                  Waihora
  • U12 Stone-Wigg Shield           Waihi
  • U13 Orford Shield                   Harlequins

The winning U10 Team – Gus Carr, Harry Hanson, Harry Carr, Max Carr, Louis Hastie, Liam Suddaby,
Alex Steele (hiding), Harry Munro, Edmund Ferro

The winning U12 Blue Team – Jack Sutherland, Archie Tayler, Will Goldsbury, Hugh Saunders, Sebastian Ferro, Tom Taylor, George MacLeod, Luke Slee, and Fletcher Rhodes in front with the Stone-Wigg Shield

Return to main news page


Download the Waihi Prospectus